Lyric Hammersmith announces casting for ‘Leave to Remain’

The Lyric Hammersmith has today announced casting for the world premiere of Leave to Remain, a new play with songs by Matt Jones and Kele Okereke, which runs at the Lyric Hammersmith from 18 January to 16 February 2019.

Joining the previously announced Tyrone Huntley as Obi will be: Billy Cullum as Obi’s partner, Alex; Emma Amos as Diane; Aretha Ayeh as Chichi; Rakie Ayola as Grace; Sandy Batchelor as Raymond; Arun Blair-Mangat as Damien; and Cornell S. John as Kenneth. Further casting is still to be announced.

Leave to Remain is directed by Robby Graham and designed by Rebecca Brower.

The show’s soundtrack, performed by Bloc Party frontman Kele Okereke, will be released to coincide with press night on 24 January 2019.

Billy Cullum (Alex) and Tyrone Huntley (Obi) in LEAVE TO REMAIN at the Lyric Hammersmith. Photo by Johan Persson

Give me your worst day 

Give it to me 

I’ll take the strain 

Give me all the times you go insane 

Your leave to remain

Obi (Tyrone Huntley) and Alex (Billy Cullum) are a young gay couple leading busy London lives.

When Alex’s visa comes into question, their relationship takes a turn. Marriage is an option, but the timing isn’t perfect, and it means confronting their families and their pasts.

Told through a blend of movement, drama and 14 original new tracks by Bloc Party’s Kele Okereke, Leave to Remain is a tender portrait of love in the face of an uncertain future.

For more information, and to book tickets, please Click Here.

Get Social


Latest Posts