‘SOME LIKE IT HOT’ sets Broadway closing date & announces plans for West End transfer

The most award-winning musical of the 2022-2023 season, SOME LIKE IT HOT will play its final performance at Broadway’s Shubert Theatre (225 West 44th Street) on Saturday 30 December 2023, before launching a national tour and West End production.

Awarded BEST MUSICAL by The Drama League, Drama Desk and Outer Critics Circle, SOME LIKE IT HOT received over 20+ major awards throughout the 2022-2023 season, including four Tony Awards for Best Lead Actor in a Musical (J. Harrison Ghee), Best Choreography (Casey Nicholaw), Best Orchestrations (Charlie Rosen & Bryan Carter) and Best Costumes in a Musical (Gregg Barnes). J. Harrison Ghee made history as the first non-binary performer to take home the Tony Award in their category.

A US National Tour will launch in September 2024 and a West End production will follow in 2025, produced by The Shubert Organization and Neil Meron in partnership with Ambassador Theatre Group.

At the time of the final performance, the production will have played the Shubert Theatre for over a year, for a total of 483 performances.

This brand-new Broadway musical comedy features a book by Tony winner Matthew López (The Inheritance) & Tony nominee Amber Ruffin (“The Amber Ruffin Show”), music by Tony winner Marc Shaiman, lyrics by Tony winner Scott Wittman and Marc Shaiman (Hairspray) and direction and choreography by Tony winner Casey Nicholaw (The Book of Mormon).  The musical is based on the classic MGM film Some Like It Hot which has been named the “Funniest American Movie of All Time” by the American Film Institute.

The company is led by two-time Tony Award winner Christian Borle as Joe, Tony Award winner J. Harrison Ghee as Jerry, Adrianna Hicks as Sugar, Tony Award nominee Kevin Del Aguila as Osgood, Tony Award nominee NaTasha Yvette Williams as Sweet Sue, Adam Heller as Mulligan, Mark Lotito as Spats, and Angie Schworer as Minnie.  

The ensemble includes TyNia René Brandon, Ian Campayno, DeMarius Copes, Casey Garvin, Devon Hadsell, Ashley Elizabeth Hale, Jenny Hill, K.J. Hippensteel, Jarvis B. Manning Jr., Brian Martin, Abby Matsusaka, Amber Owens, Kayla Pecchioni, Charles South, Brendon Stimson, Raena White, Julius Williams, and Richard Riaz Yoder.

The creative team includes Tony Award winner Scott Pask (Sets), Tony Award winner Gregg Barnes (Costumes), Tony Award winner Natasha Katz (Lights), Tony Award winner Brian Ronan (Sound), Josh Marquette (Hair & Wigs), Milagros Medina-Cerdiera (Makeup Designer), Cheryl Thomas (Hair and Skin Consultant), Christian Borle & Joe Farrell (Additional Material), Mary-Mitchell Campbell (Music Supervisor), Darryl Archibald (Music Director), Kristy Norter (Music Coordinator), Charlie Rosen and Bryan Carter (Orchestrations), Glen Kelly (Dance and Incidental Music Arrangements) and The Telsey Office, Bethany Knox, CSA. (Casting). Karen Moore serves as Production Stage Manager. The production team also includes Steve Bebout (Associate Director), John MacInnis (Associate Choreographer), and Juniper Street Productions (Production Management). 101 Productions, Ltd. serves as the general manager.

Get Social


Latest Posts