Ghostlight Records to record ‘The Jonathan Larson Project’

Ghostlight Records has announced that a recording of The Jonathan Larson Project will be released in early 2019, based on the acclaimed concert originally presented at Feinstein’s/54 Below.

Directed and conceived by Jennifer Ashley Tepper, and featuring music supervision, orchestrations and arrangements by Charlie Rosen

The Jonathan Larson Project is an evening of Jonathan’s unheard work featuring songs from never-produced shows like 1984 and Superbia; songs that were cut from Rent and tick tick BOOM; songs written for theatrical revues and songs written for the radio; songs about politics and love and New York City; songs never before publicly performed or recorded.

The album will be produced by Jennifer Ashley TepperCharlie Rosen and Kurt Deutsch.

(L-R) Lauren Marcus, Nick Blaemire, Krysta Rodriguez, Andy Mientus, and George Salazar. Photo by Philip Romano

Jennifer Ashley Tepper comments:

“Larson’s work has always spoken to me deeply. It was a theatre historian’s dream to spend several years researching his lesser-known songs at the Library of Congress in order to create a new song cycle. We presented The Jonathan Larson Project at Feinstein’s/54 Below this fall and the energy of both the collaboration and of the audiences at the 12 performances was like nothing I’ve ever experienced. Jonathan’s lost songs, which had been sitting in boxes for decades, are relevant and fascinating and personal and political and fun and heartbreaking. Rehearsing them with some of the greatest theatre artists of our new generation and then watching the way they influenced new audience members made me feel his legacy in a powerful way. Now we get to share that legacy with the world by recording it as an album. A few years ago, most of these songs only existed as demo tapes in a library vault from the 1980s and 1990s, featuring Jonathan and his piano. Now they comprise a brand new theatre piece that has been fully realized musically and will be available for everyone to listen to. I could not be more excited for a wider audience to experience The Jonathan Larson Project.”

The Jonathan Larson Project features Nick Blaemire (tick tick BOOMFoundGodspell), Lauren Marcus (Be More ChillBeatsvilleCompany), Andy Mientus (NBC’s “Smash,” Spring AwakeningLes Misérables), Krysta Rodriguez (Spring AwakeningFirst DateThe Addams Family), and George Salazar  (Be More ChillThe Lightning Thief, tick tick BOOM).

Music supervision, orchestrations and arrangements by Charlie Rosen (Be More ChillPrince of BroadwayHoneymoon in VegasCharlie Rosen’s Broadway Big Band).

The album will feature the show’s five-piece band including musical director Natalie TenenbaumCharlie RosenCody Owen StineMegan Talay, and Marques Walls with Danielle Gimbal as copyist.

Get Social


Latest Posts