The Criterion Collection announces 30-disc Ingmar Bergman Centenary box set!

To celebrate the 100th anniversary of the legendary Swedish filmmaker, Ingmar BergmanThe Criterion Collection has today announced ‘Ingmar Bergman’s Cinema‘, a huge, thirty-disc Blu-ray Collector’s Edition Box Set which will form the heart of Criterion’s centennial celebrations.

The most comprehensive collection of Bergman’s work ever released on home video – spanning six decades and thirty-nine films – ‘Ingmar Bergman’s Cinema‘ will be organised as a film festival, complete with opening and closing nights bookending double features and centerpieces.

The set will include the landmark classics The Seventh Seal, Persona, and Fanny and Alexander, alongside previously unavailable works like Dreams, The Rite, and Brink of Life.

Accompanied by a 248-page book with essays on each program, as well as by more than thirty hours of supplemental features, Ingmar Bergman’s Cinema traces themes and images across Bergman’s career, blazing trails through the films for longtime fans and newcomers alike.

OPENING NIGHT: Smiles of a Summer Night (1955)

Crisis (1946)

A Ship to India (1947)

Wild Strawberries (1957)

To Joy (1950)

Summer Interlude (1951)

Summer with Monika (1953)

Dreams (1955)

A Lesson in Love (1954)

CENTERPIECE ONE: Scenes from a Marriage – Television version (1973) | U.S. theatrical version (1974)

Saraband (2003)

From the Life of the Marionettes (1980)

Hour of the Wolf (1968)

Shame (1968)

The Passion of Anna (1969)

Fårö Document (1970)

Fårö Document 1979 (1979)

Through a Glass Darkly (1961)

Winter Light (1963)

The Silence (1963)

The Virgin Spring (1960)

CENTERPIECE TWO: The Seventh Seal (1957)

The Devil’s Eye (1960)

All These Women (1964)

Sawdust and Tinsel (1953)

The Rite (1969)

The Magician (1958)

The Magic Flute (1975)

After the Rehearsal (1984)

The Touch (1971)

The Serpent’s Egg (1977)


Thirst (1949)

Port of Call (1948)

Cries and Whispers (1972)

Waiting Women (1952)

Brink of Life (1958)

Autumn Sonata (1978)

CLOSING NIGHT: Fanny and Alexander – Television version (1983) | Theatrical version (1982)

Special Features:

Thirty-nine films, including eighteen never before released by Criterion

Digital restorations, including a new 4K restoration of The Seventh Seal and new 2K restorations of Shame, The Touch, Waiting Women, and The Serpent’s Egg, among many others, with uncompressed monaural and stereo soundtracks

Introductions to eleven of the films by director Ingmar Bergman

Six audio commentaries featuring film scholars Peter Cowie and Birgitta Steene

Over five hours of interviews with Bergman

Interviews with many of Bergman’s key collaborators, including actors Bibi Andersson, Harriet Andersson, Ingrid Bergman, Erland Josephson, Gunnel Lindblom, Liv Ullmann, and Max von Sydow and cinematographer Sven Nykvist

Daniel and Karin’s Face, two rarely seen documentary shorts by Bergman

Documentaries about the making of Autumn Sonata, Fanny and Alexander, The Magic Flute, The Serpent’s Egg, The Touch, and Winter Light

Extensive programs about Bergman’s life and work, including Bergman Island, . . . But Film Is My Mistress, Laterna Magica, Liv & Ingmar, and others

Behind-the-scenes footage, video essays, trailers, stills galleries, and more

PLUS: A lavishly illustrated 248-page book, featuring essays on the films by critics, scholars, and authors including Cowie, Alexander Chee, Molly Haskell, Karan Mahajan, Fernanda Solórzano, and many others; selections from Bergman’s own writing and remarks on his work; and detailed guides to the feature films and supplements included in the set

Get Social


Latest Posts

%d bloggers like this: