Penguin’s small-format ‘Penguin Modern’ Series to be published on 22 February, 2018

Celebrating the radical spirit of Penguin Modern Classics, Penguin Books are set to publish their new Penguin Modern series on 22 February, 2018.

Penguin Modern is a new series of fifty small-format books – all complete, standalone works – chosen and edited by a team of twelve Penguin editors, and available for just £1 each.

Several of the works will also be appearing in English tranlastion for the very first time.

A mix of avant-garde essays, newly translated poetry and some great fiction, the series will include the brilliant and diverse voices of: Martin Luther King, who wrote Letter from Birmingham Jail on the margins of a newspaper while serving time following his arrest during the nonviolent Birmingham campaign; cult literary icon, Kathy Acker, who self-published New York in 1979 before distributing it to the local art community; Shirley Jackson, who was marginalised and undermined by the literary establishment of the day; and Federico García Lorca, who was executed for his political beliefs by Nationalist forces during the Spanish Civil War.

Other authors in the series include: Daphne du Maurier, Allen Ginsberg, George Orwell, Gertrude Stein, Ralph Ellison, Franz Kafka, Susan Sontag, Albert Camus, John Steinbeck, Samuel Beckett, Jack Kerouac, Betty Friedan, Yuko Tsushima, Primo Levi and Wendell Berry.

Get Social


Latest Posts