Eureka! Entertainment to release D. W. Griffith’s ‘INTOLERANCE’ on Blu-ray as part of The Masters of Cinema Series on 8 December

Eureka! Entertainment have announced the release of INTOLERANCE (Love’s struggle throughout the ages), starring Lillian Gish, the icon of silent Hollywood and a cast of thousands.

Counted amongst the most influential films of all time by The Library of Congress – National Film Registry, the American Film Institute and Sight & Sound Magazine, the film has been digitally restored and features a lush orchestral score by the acclaimed composer Carl Davis, conducting the Luxembourg Symphony Orchestra.

D.W. Griffith’s cinematic milestone will be released on Blu-ray on 8 December 2014 as part of the Masters of Cinema Series.

After shaking the world with his hugely controversial epic The Birth of a Nation, pioneer filmmaker D. W. Griffith spared no expense in putting together his next project, Intolerance (Love’s struggle throughout the ages): a powerful examination of intolerance as it has persisted throughout civilisation, set across four parallel storylines that span 2500 years.

There is the Babylonian story, depicting nothing less than the fall of Babylon; the Judean story, which revolves around the crucifixion of Christ; the French story, which presents the St. Bartholomew’s Day Massacre in all its horror; and a modern American story of class struggle, crime, and the plight of life in the early 20th century set within urban slums and the prison system.

Starring such luminaries as Lillian GishConstance Talmadge, and Miriam Cooper, who share screentime with an enormous main cast and some 3,000 extras, Griffith’s film — the most expensive motion picture ever produced at the time — went on to become a critical success whose influence has only grown in the decades since. The Masters of Cinema Series are proud to present the 2013 restoration of Kevin Brownlow’s and David Gill’s preserved Intolerance, featuring Carl Davis‘s orchestral score, for the first time on Blu-ray in the UK.


Special Features:

• New high-definition 1080p presentation of the acclaimed Brownlow and Gill “Thames Silents” restoration of the film

• Orchestral score by the esteemed composer Carl Davis

• Two feature-length films by Griffith that act as companion pieces to Intolerance and take their material from the main film: The Fall of Babylon and The Mother and the Law, accompanied by new scores by the Mont Alto Motion Picture Orchestra

• Three Hours That Shook the World: Observations on ‘Intolerance’, a 2013 documentary featuring preservationist Kevin Brownlow discussing the film

• 56-PAGE BOOKLET filled with vintage and modern reports, reflections, and essays on the film.


Release Date: 8 December, 2014

Pre-order Now (click image to buy):

Get Social


Latest Posts