‘Lamentation’, the eagerly anticipated new Shardlake novel from C. J. Sansom to be released on 23 October, from Mantle and Pan MacMillan


C. J. Sansom

The eagerly anticipated new Shardlake novel from the number 1 bestselling author

With Lamentation number one bestselling author C. J. Sansom returns us to the dark and gripping world of his Tudor investigator, lawyer Matthew Shardlake.

As Henry the Eighth’s long reign finally draws to a close, Matthew Shardlake is summoned to Whitehall Palace, to the Queen’s private chambers, and asked to undertake a delicate mission, a mission where failure will put Catherine Parr’s very life in mortal danger . . .

The Shardlake series has sold over two million copies in the UK alone. Lamentation is set to be one of the biggest and most eagerly anticipated publications of the autumn.



About The Author

C. J. Sansom was educated at Birmingham University, where he took a BA and then a PhD in history.

After working in a variety of jobs, he retrained as a solicitor and practised in Sussex, until becoming a full-time writer.

Sansom is the bestselling author of the critically acclaimed Shardlake series, as well as Winter in Madrid and Dominion. He lives in Sussex.


Release Date:  23 October, 2014

Pre-order Now (click image to buy):

Get Social


Latest Posts