Initial casting announced for The Old Vic’s revival of Arthur Miller’s ‘The Crucible’, previewing from 24 June, 2014

The Crucible Arthur Miller

Directed by Yaël Farber

Previews from 24 June 2014

Richard Armitage to lead the cast in The Crucible

Initial casting for Arthur Miller’s The Crucible is announced. Richard Armitage, Anna Madeley and Samantha Colley are to play John Proctor, Elizabeth Proctor and Abigail Williams in Yaёl Farber’s new production at The Old Vic, with previews from Tuesday 24 June.

The cast also includes Sarah Niles, Rebecca Saire and Zara White, with further cast to be announced.

Yaёl Farber directs a visceral re-imagining of Arthur Miller’s modern American masterpiece about the Salem witch trials drawing parallels with his experience of McCarthy’s anti- communist investigations in the 1950’s. The Crucible tells the story of one man’s fight to save his identity in a repressive Puritan community where intolerance collides with lust and superstition, fuelling widespread hysteria with tragic results.

The Crucible is the second play in a new season of productions which are presented in-the- round at The Old Vic. Reprising the transformation of The Old Vic’s auditorium into the round, first seen for the award-winning 2008 production of The Norman Conquests, this ambitious project is once more made possible by the generous support of CQS. The season of productions is supported for the fourth consecutive year by Bank of America Merrill Lynch.


Richard Armitage plays John Proctor.

This summer Richard can be seen in New Line Cinema’s tornado disaster film Into the Storm, directed by Steven Quale and opposite Sarah Wayne Callies. Later this year he will reprise his starring role of Thorin Oakenshield, leader of the Dwarves, in Peter Jackson’s last instalment of the highly successful Hobbit trilogy alongside Martin Freeman, Ian McKellen, Andy Serkis and Cate Blanchett. He is also well known to cinema audiences for playing villain Heinz Kruger in Captain America: The First Avenger. Richard has appeared in many high profile television shows such as North and South, Spooks, Robin Hood, Strike Back, The Vicar of Dibley and the BBC’s Macbeth opposite James McAvoy and Keeley Hawes. A respected theatre actor, his previous stage work includes The Duchess of Malfi and Macbeth for the Royal Shakespeare Company, and Hamlet at the Birmingham Rep.


Samantha Colley plays Abigail Williams. Samantha is to graduate from The Oxford School of Drama in 2014.

Whilst training, she played the title role in Anna Karenina, Katherina in The Taming of the Shrew and Elizabeth Bennett in Pride and Prejudice. The Crucible is to be Samantha’s professional stage debut.


Anna Madeley plays Elizabeth Proctor.

Anna’s previous stage credits include Richard Eyre’s Broadway production of Private Lives (Music Box Theater), Earthquakes in London (National), The Turn of the Screw (Almeida) and The Philanthropist (Donmar and Broadway). She has also appeared in three seasons with the Royal Shakespeare Company. On film she has starred in In Bruges, Guest House Paradiso and A Fantastic Fear of Everything. Most recently, she played Miss Ravillious in Mr Selfridge and has had roles in Utopia, Hustle, and the controversial Channel 4 drama Consent.


Yaël Farber is a multiple award-winning director and playwright of international acclaim.

Her productions have toured the world extensively – earning her a reputation for hard-hitting, controversial works of the highest artistic standard. Her most recent work Nirbhaya (directed and written by Farber in India) earned rave reviews and three international awards at the 2013 Edinburgh Festival and has just completed a sold out run at The Southbank Centre. Mies Julie (written and directed by Farber) won a string of international awards at the 2012 Edinburgh Festival, was named one of the Top Ten Productions of 2012 by The New York Times, and Top five Productions of 2012 by The Guardian. Yaël is the recipient of four Best Director Awards (1991, 2002, 2008, 2012) in her native South Africa, where she was named Artist of the Year (2003). She has won the Scotsman Fringe First Award (Edinburgh 2000, 2012, 2013), The Sony Gold Award (London 2001), Best of Edinburgh Award (Edinburgh 2012) and The Amnesty Freedom of Expression Award 2013. She has been nominated for a Drama Desk Award (New York, 2007) and a TMA Best Director Award (UK 2008). Her productions have toured across the major cities of the USA, the UK (including the West End and the Barbican), Canada, Australia, Japan, Europe and Africa, The United Arab Emirates and Bermuda. She created a work in residence at The Joseph Papp Public Theatre, and was Head of the Directing Program at the National Theatre School of Canada for three years (2009 – 2012).


Arthur Miller (1915-2005) was born in New York City and studied at the University of Michigan. His plays include The Man Who Had All the Luck (1944), All My Sons (1947), Death of a Salesman (1949), The Crucible (1953), A View from the Bridge and A Memory of Two
Mondays (1955), After the Fall (1964), Incident at Vichy (1964), The Price (1968), The Creation of the World and Other Business (1972), The Archbishop’s Ceiling (1977), The American Clock (1980) and Playing for Time. Later plays include The Ride Down Mt. Morgan (1991), The Last Yankee (1993), Broken Glass (1994), Mr. Peters’ Connections (1998), Resurrection Blues (2002), and Finishing the Picture (2004). Other works include Focus, a novel (1945), The Misfits, a screenplay (1960), and the texts for In Russia (1969), In the Country (1977), and Chinese Encounters (1979), three books in collaboration with his wife, photographer Inge Morath. Memoirs include Salesman in Beijing (1984), and Timebends, an autobiography (1988). Short fiction includes the collection I Don’t Need You Anymore (1967), the novella, Homely Girl, a Life (1995) and Presence: Stories (2007). He was awarded the Avery Hopwood Award for Playwriting at University of Michigan in 1936. He twice won the New York Drama Critics Circle Award, received two Emmy awards and three Tony Awards for his plays, as well as a Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement. He also won an Obie award, a BBC Best Play Award, the George Foster Peabody Award, a Gold Medal for Drama from the National Institute of Arts and Letters, the Literary Lion Award from the New York Public Library, the John F. Kennedy Lifetime Achievement Award, and the Algur Meadows Award. He was named Jefferson Lecturer for the National Endowment for the Humanities in 2001. He was awarded the 2002 Prince of Asturias Award for Letters and the 2003 Jerusalem Prize. He received honorary degrees from Oxford University and Harvard University and was awarded the Prix Moliere of the French theatre, the Dorothy and Lillian Gish Lifetime Achievement Award and the Pulitzer Prize.


Fore more information and to book tickets, please Click Here.

Get Social


Latest Posts